Our Faculty Members

Allbritton, Nancy

Kenan Distinguished Professor; Chair of UNC/NC State Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering
Chapman Hall 241
nlallbri@email.unc.edu
919-966-2291

Research Interest:
Signaling in Single Cells, Microfabricated Systems for Cellular Analysis


Coronell, Orlando

Associate Professor
McGavran-Greenberg Hall 163B
coronell@unc.edu
919-966-9010

Research Interest:
Wet Chemistry, Polymer Synthesis, Nanoscale Materials, Membrane Systems


DeSimone, Joseph

Chancellor's Eminent Professor of Chemistry, UNC; William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering, NCSU
Caudill Laboratories 257
desimone@unc.edu
919-962-2166

Research Interest:
Nanomedicine, High Speed 3D Printing Technologies, Medical Devices, Green Chemistry


Dingemans, Theo

Professor
Murray Hall 1113
tjd@unc.edu
919-962-4048

Research Interest:
Design and Synthesis of High Molecular Weight All-Aromatic Polymers


Forest, Greg M.

Grant Dahlstrom Distinguished Professor of Mathematics
Phillips Hall 316A
forest@unc.edu
919-962-9606

Research Interest:
Mathematics of, and Translational Applications to, Multiple Applied Science Challenges


Freeman, Ronit

Associate Professor
Caudill Laboratories 159
ronifree@email.unc.edu
919-962-3544

Research Interest:
Biomaterials and Self-Assembly


Goldberg, Richard

Research Associate Professor
Macnider 149B
r.goldberg@unc.edu
(919) 966-5768

Research Interest:
Assistive Technology, Rehabiltation Engineering


Huang, Jinsong

Professor
Murray Hall 1115
jhuang@unc.edu
919-445-1107

Research Interest:
Perovskite Solar Cells, Photodetectors, X-ray Imaging, Radiation Detectors, Electronic Devices


Klotsa, Daphne

Assistant Professor
Murray Hall 1114
dklotsa@email.unc.edu
919-962-6454

Research Interest:
Soft Matter, Computer Simulations, Self-Assembly, Packing, Active Matter, Granular Materials


Lopez, René

Associate Professor
Chapman Hall 343
rln@physics.unc.edu
919-962-7216

Research Interest:
Electromagnetic Radiation and Nanostructured Materials


Meyer, Gerald

Professor
Murray Hall 2202B
gjmeyer@email.unc.edu
919-962-6320

Research Interest:
Inorganic Materials, Spectroscopy, and Electrochemistry


Meyer, Thomas J.

Arey Distinguished Professor
Murray Hall 2202F
tjmeyer@email.unc.edu
919-843-8313

Research Interest:
Solar Energy Conversion & Artificial Photosynthesis


Miller, Cass T.

Okun Distinguished Professor
McGavran-Greenberg Hall 3201
casey_miller@unc.edu
919-966-2643

Research Interest:
Environmental Physics, Soft Matter, Continuum Mechanics, Applied Mathematics, Computational Science


Mitran, Sorin

Professor of Mathematics
Chapman Hall 451
mitran@unc.edu
919-843-8901

Research Interest:
Computational Descriptions of Natural Phenomena, with a Particular Focus on Multiscale and Multiphysics Modeling


Mucha, Peter

Professor of Mathematics and Applied Physical Sciences
Chapman Hall 425
mucha@unc.edu
919-962-2568

Research Interest:
Interdisciplinary Approach to Data Science Focused on Networks and Network Representations


Nazockdast, Ehssan

Assistant Professor
Murray Hall 1115
ehssan@email.unc.edu
919-962-6454

Research Interest:
Complex Fluids


Pégard, Nicolas

Assistant Professor
Caudill Laboratories 154
pegard@unc.edu
(919) 962-6882

Research Interest:
Computational optics, imaging systems, optical instrumentation and digital interfaces for systems biology and neuroscience


Ramsey, J. Michael

Minnie N. Goldby Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
Chapman Hall 251
jmramsey@unc.edu
919-965-7492

Research Interest:
Microfabricated Chemical Instrumentation, Microfluidics, Nanofluidics


Samulski, Edward

Professor Emeritus
Caudill Laboratories 161
et@unc.edu
919-962-1610

Research Interest:
Elastic networks and sheared polymer melts, “RheoNMR,” and the discovery of a biaxial nematic, a phase with implications for fabricating ultra-high strength polymers


Superfine, Richard

Taylor-Williams Distinguished Professor; Chair of the Department of Applied Physical Sciences
Murray Hall 1111
superfine@unc.edu
919-843-8933

Research Interest:
Stimulus-Responsive Active and Living Materials


Walters, Glenn

Research Associate Professor
Rosenau 025
gwalters@email.unc.edu
(919) 966-3531

Research Interest:


Warren, Scott

Assistant Professor
Kenan Laboratories A808
scw@email.unc.edu
919-966-0994

Research Interest:
2D Materials, Energy Storage, Solar Energy, Nanoelectronics


Washburn, Sean

Cary C Boshamer Professor
Chapman Hall 351
sean@physics.unc.edu
919-962-9382

Research Interest:
Electrical and Mechanical Properties at the Scale of Nanometers and at Applications of Nanometer Objects in Medicine


You, Wei

Professor
Kenan Laboratories C540
wyou@unc.edu
919-962-6197

Research Interest:
Organic/Polymer Synthesis, Solar Cells, Molecular Electronics/Spintronics